Skip to main content

Homepage: Standards

Customized homepage

Information Fluency Continuum Standards

The Information Fluency Continuum is based on three standards that form the basis for the skills and strategies essential for students to become independent readers and learners.

Standard 1

Standard 1:

Using inquiry to build understanding and create new knowledge.

An independent learner asks authentic questions and accesses, evaluates, and uses information effectively to develop new understandings.

For the Report Card, this translates to: Demonstrates library skills to build understanding and create new knowledge.

Sample Learning Targets:

  • I can use library resources to find answers to my questions.
  • I can learn about any topic I choose by reading library books.
  • I can find interesting books that I can read independently.

Standard 2

Standard 2:

Pursuing personal and aesthetic growth.

And independent learner responds to and creates literary and artistic expressions, uses effective strategies for personal exploration of ideas, and reads on his or her own by choice.

For the Report Card, this translates to: Borrows materials consistently and returns them in a timely manner.

Sample Learning Targets:

  • I know how to borrow library materials and return them on time.
  • I know how many items I can borrow at a time.
  • I know what I have checked out right now.

Standard 3

Standard 3:

Demonstrating social responsibility.

An independent learner contributes to the learning community by seeking multiple perspectives, sharing his or her understandings with others, and using information and resources ethically.

For the Report Card, this translates to: Follows library rules and procedures.

Sample Learning Targets:

  • I know the difference between "renew" and "return".
  • I know how to request an item that is not here right now.
  • I know how to put a book on hold.
  • I know how to use a booklooker to keep library books in order.
  • I know how to behave in a library setting.